Vegan Fare: Review of Food for Lovers Vegan Queso

Vegan Queso, OriginalAs a Texas girl, I’m serious about Queso. It’s not something that can be taken lightly and giving it up was possible the hardest part about going vegan.

A few months ago my husband told me he tasted some vegan queso at our local Natural Grocers, but I could never find it–until yesterday. There is was under the vegan taco mix, just waiting for me. It took every shred of control not to crack it open in the store and scoop it out on my finger.

Luckily, I kept it together and got to enjoy it warm with black bean chips last night. It was so delicious, I actually double checked the ingredients. The texture was also spot on. My mind began whirling with possibilities–nachos, cheese fries, smothered burritos, jalapeno poppers–we’re going to have a beautiful relationship. Created by Food for Lovers, it is a stellar product that will become a staple in my kitchen.

My only pause would be that the original might be a tad too spicy for kids. While my son can handle it, I think it’s a bit intense for my daughter. However, the website promises the new Mild version which I will be on the lookout for. Although it’s made in Texas, they have a list of stores across the country that carry it. There is also a great section of recipes. As soon as I get my hands on some Mild, we’re diving into the Queso Biscuits.

XO

A

Categories: Feed the Belly, Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

