Just Push Play: Friday I’m in Love

Because my college does not have Friday classes, that day is reserved for meetings, trainings, and other administrative falderal. As my responsibilities have increased, so have the mandatory obligations on Fridays. But every once and awhile, I still get to enjoy the perfect storm of kids at school and no work. From roughly 9:30 am to 2 pm, my time is my own to be wasted or enjoyed.

After I drop my son off at school, I treat myself to a soy latte or Cafe Americano with a touch of soy milk. The coffee and I return home, curl up on the couch, and catch up on Law and Order: SVU (I know, it’s awful, but it’s my guilty pleasure that no one else watches). When the cat hears the theme music, she comes running in to nestle on my lap. My theory is she plans on dispatching our dog and is looking for tips.

After SVU ends, I am almost overwhelmed with possibilities, including walking the dogs, writing, reading, or just dancing around the living room for no particular reason. Often I will do all four–my cat and dogs have some crazy good dance moves. (Cleaning, while never on my wish list, does sometimes happen. Usually once the coffee has kicked in.)

May your Friday activities brim with joy, be it at work, at home, riding a giant rocking horse, and/or surrounded by bubbles. Here’s the Cure to send you on your way. Has anyone ever looked so thrilled to be dancing in a straight jacket? I know I haven’t.

XO

A

 

Categories: Let Me Entertain You, Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

