Vegan Holidays: Cranberry-Apple Bread

One staple of the holidays in my part of the world is yummy breads. We give and receive them as gifts and enjoy them for breakfast. Finding a bread I like it a bit tricky–I don’t care for banana bread or anything with raisins. So this year I tried out Cranberry Apple Bread from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores by Roberto Martin.

Vegan Cooking for Carnivores: Over 125 Recipes So Tasty You Won't Miss the MeatI have previously reviewed Martin’s book in this post, and my initial critique remains true. As with yesterday’s book, Martin does rely too heavily on processed stuff (the recipe calls for egg replacer), but I have learned to use other books like Cookin’ Crunk and a book I’ll review tomorrow to do more homemade versions of his processed stuff.

 

DSCN1777This bread whipped together quickly–I’d say about 5 minutes of prep and then the 45 minutes in the oven. I should have chopped the apples a bit smaller, but otherwise it came out beautifully. My substitutions are noted in red. I highly recommend this, especially as the recipe provides one to eat and one to gift.

Cranberry-Apple Bread

  • Quick
  • Easy
  • Kid friendly
  • Meat-eater husband and kid approved

Ingredients:

2 cups organic bread flour (I used a mix of 1 cup oat and 1 cup whole wheat)

1 TBS baking powder

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

2 TBS egg replacer, mixed with 1/4 cup warm water (I used 1/2 cup apple sauce)

1/2 cup agave

8 TBS vegan butter

1 1/2 cups water

1 cup dried cranberries (I used 1/2 cup cranberries, 1/2 cup cherries)

1 large apple, peeled and diced

Preparation:

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Place the first seven ingredients in a mixing bowl in the order listed and mix well with a wooden spoon.
  3. Gently stir in fruit.
  4. Pour equal amounts of batter into two greased loaf pans and bake for 45 minutes of until a toothpick inserted comes about clean.
  5. Let cool in pan before slicing.

XO

A

PS. Tomorrow brings more treats for those on your list.

 

Categories: Feed the Belly, Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

