Mistakes of a Well-Intentioned Life

From the NaBloPoMo Prompts:

Friday, October 5, 2012
Do you tend to cover up your failings or admit your mistakes?

My mistakes, and there are many of them, are usually on the display for the world to see. At work, one of the best pieces of advice I ever got from a previous supervisor was that when you do make a mistake, give your boss a warning. Then when the situation is brought to their attention, they know your perspective. I do this not just with mistakes but with discontent. When I receive a bevy of emails from a student who is accusing me of being unfair because I won’t give them an unearned grade, let them turn in late work, or change the rules for them, I warn my dean that she might be hearing from said student. That way if they do call her to complain, she has my side of the story and my policy in front of her to deal with the student’s compliant. In true mistakes at work, many of them are silly things (like those that I mentioned in this post) and I own them.

In my personal life, I admit my mistakes, but it is harder, especially where my children are concerned. No one wants to admit when you mess up with your kids. I know I had a list of things I said I’d never do with my kids. And I’ve stuck to it, instead finding all new ways to mess up. It’s what makes parenting so tough–you want to be great for your little people, but it is impossible sometimes to know what to do. In the end, it’s just the hope that somewhere along all the misses, there’s an actual connect.

Today, by the way, is my daughter’s sixth birthday. It’s crazy to me that she’s this old already or even some future version of that tiny thing they handed me six years ago. We’ve certainly made mistakes with her, some that can be easily remedied, some that we’re still working through. But she’s loving, she’s smart, and she’s her own unique and fantastic person. When I sent her off to school today with her pumpkin cupcakes, I thought, “That’s our girl. Thank goodness she’s weird.”

XO

A

Categories: The Little People and Furry Friends | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

