Face Masks for the Cheap and Lazy

I love a good face mask, but one of my big complaints is that the recipes often call for things like strawberries, pumpkin, or some other expensive fruit that I would prefer in a cupcake to on my face. In the past I would just throw some egg white on my face when I only needed yolks for a recipe. That’s not an option anymore, so here are three simple masks that are vegan. While they do require some fruits and veggies, these can be purchased for much less or you can use those that are looking a little sad. The first two are for dry to normal skin, while the third is for oily skin. My skin changes depending on the weather, so I usually only apply to parts of my face that need whatever mask I’ve made.

Avocado and Carrot Mask

Take half and avocado (slice up the other half and put it on toast–so yummy) and add to one peeled, cooked carrot. Mash them up and add 1/2 TBS of olive oil. (You can put them in the food processor, but I’m super lazy and don’t want to wash out my food processor.) Get the mixture as smooth as possible. Apply to your face and leave for 20 minutes. Rinse with warm water.

Banana Oatmeal Mask

Mash up a ripe banana (I refuse to eat them when they get all brown, so this is a great way to avoid waste) and add 1/3 of a cup to 1/2 cup oatmeal (not instant), a little at a time. Let it sit until the oats are soft. Apply to face and leave for 20 minutes. Rinse with warm water.

Tomato Face

Take one of those tomatoes that’s really too mushy to slice up, mash it up, and add some oats to make a paste (again you can use the food processor if you aren’t a slug like me). Apply to face for 15 or so minutes. Rinse with warm water.

Throw on one of these masks, add some chamomile tea bags for your tired eyes, and viola! Happy home spa!

XO

A

 

Categories: Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

