A Time to Build Up

Liliana: Official Kindergartener.

“There will be a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning.” ~Louis L’Amour

It is a time of beginnings and endings at Generation Cake. Last Thursday my daughter, Liliana, attended her last day of preschool. On Friday my husband’s job came to an end. Luxuries like cable and texting were turned off. Life began to transition.

While Liliana was bidding her friends goodbye on Thursday, I was signing a contract that makes me not only an assistant professor but a liaison for my division, a promotion in responsibility as well as pay. The pile of textbooks for Staley’s classes grows taller every day in preparation for his first day of class next Monday. Today Staley, Alex and I watched Liliana walk into Kindergarten (and no, I didn’t cry). We are in the process of shifting schedules, budgeting, and generally adapting to the next phase for our family.

For Generation Cake all these changes signal a transition as well:

  • First, thanks to Amy Cerka for the new logo and header.
  • I am trying to persuade Staley to write monthly updates on life as a full-time student and daddy. Fingers crossed I can wear him down.
  • Generation Cake is now http://www.generationcake.com!
  • Biweekly posts are the new order of the day, with topics like: What else have I learned at my random jobs? What happens when someone with a disdain for bureaucracy becomes part of the machine? How does an off-kilter mom grapple with stress of being a private school mom (the activities calendar I got last week gives me hives!)? What other landfill bound materials can find new life as jewelry? How does a primarily vegan family eat on a budget?

For the answers to these, and many other questions, stay tuned.

XO

A

PS. Don’t miss a post! Become a Cakester!

PPS. Help me pressure Staley into writing posts. Sound off in the comments!

Categories: Feed the Belly, Get Smart, The Little People and Furry Friends | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

