The Quote Collector

I am a collector of many thing, including but not limited to, early edition books, milk glass, graduate English course credits, and wisdom. The last of this list takes the form of a number of quotes written down in a little journal that originated more than a decade ago. On occasion I have posted some on Tumblr, but my use for that is changing. So I present some of my favorite collected wisdoms from the Cakester Book of Quotes.

“In a murderous time the heart breaks and breaks and lives by breaking.”

-Stanley Kunitz, The Testing Tree

“I never give them hell. I just tell the truth and they think it is hell.”

-Harry Truman

“Hey, wait–I just remembered . . . You’re boring and my legs work.”

-David Spade, Just Shoot Me

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.”

-Woody Allen

“Down with a world in which the guarantee that will not die of starvation has been purchased with the guarantee that we will die of boredom.”

-Situationist Graffiti, Paris 1968

“Women are not in the wrong when they decline to accept the rules laid down for them, since men make the rules without consulting them. No wonder intrigue and strife abound.”

-Michel de Montaigne

“It’s a sign of mediocrity when you demonstrate gratitude with moderation.”

-Roberto Benigni

“Can’t you show me nothing more than surrender?”

-Patti Smith

“I have a limited attention span for nonsense.”

-Dina Manzo, The Real Housewives of New Jersey

“I am so clever that sometimes I don’t understand a single word of what I am saying.”

-Oscar Wilde

“Some rise by sin, and some by virtue fall.”

-William Shakespeare, Measure for Measure

“We don’t go to the theater to see appropriate behavior.”

-Donna Germain

“Everybody says sex is obscene. The only true obscenity is war.”

-Henry Miller, Tropic of Cancer

“You want the truth, of course. You want me to put two and two together. But two and two doesn’t necessarily get you the truth. Two and two equals a voice outside the window. Two and two equals the wind. The living bird is not its labeled bones.”

-Margaret Atwood, The Blind Assassin

“You must be the change you wish to see in the world.”

-Mahatma Gandhi

Perhaps someday I’ll share some more of my stash. What quotes do you love?

XO

A

PS. Check out my quote on one of my favorite sites, Soul Speak.

Categories: Get Smart, Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

