People 2012

I gave a great deal of thought as to what to do for my blog this year. A Year of Lists? Too cliche. A Year of Photos? I’m a writer, not a photographer (If you don’t believe me, look at my college photos from Loch Ness. That’s not Nessie, it’s my camera strap.) A Year of Politics? As I tell my students, we tend to have opinions, strong opinions, about roughly five things. Everything else, particularly the stuff that doesn’t directly effect us, we don’t know enough or care enough about. I’m no different.

So what to do? After much consideration, the answer was obvious: People. My life is shaped by people–living, dead, happy, sad, good, bad, real, fictional. This year I want to talk about people.

And I will begin by talking about one of the most important people in my life: my husband.

You see, today is our seventh wedding anniversary. Some people would make reference to the Seven Year Itch which would in turn cause me to roll my eyes. It’s a movie about a subway grate and a white dress, not a marital truth. What is marital truth? For me, it’s this:

I love my husband more deeply than I did when I met him. Not better, not worse, just deeper. Why? Because our vows have been tested. We’ve done sickness and health, richer and poorer, better and worse. They aren’t just trite vows that we’ve said with clasped hands. The tests have come and gone and we have overcome. But it’s more than that.

He still makes me laugh harder than anyone in the world (except maybe our daughter). Seriously, his George Lucas impression makes me glad my babies were both c-sections so I don’t have to change my pants.

We can still talk for hours about anything.

He can kiss like the devil.

He still slaps my butt and tells me how beautiful I am even though I’ve had two kids and my uniform is yoga pants, a college t-shirt, Toms, a loopy ponytail, and no make up.

Every day is better because he is a part of it.

He still surprises me in wonderful ways that make me love him even more.

Not to get all Debbie Gibson, but I still get lost in his eyes. (And should I ever be noteworthy enough for people to collect trivia about me, that was the first album I ever bought with my own money. I should probably be ashamed of that, but I’m not.)

So . . .

Happy anniversary, Kitten. I love you a million times a billion.

For the rest of you, thanks for reading. I’ll be doing a post a week (hopefully more) for 2012. Until next time.

XO

A

 

 

Categories: Life and Other Nonsense | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

