Girl Crush: Evie

So I’ll admit it, I have a girl crush. It started in 1999 and is still going strong today. I just can’t help it. I love Evelyn Carnahan.

Who?

Evelyn Carnahan, better known as Evie, played by Rachel Weisz in The Mummy.

Why?

Evie is the best version of the woman I mean to be. She’s intelligent, knowledgeable, and witty. Even when faced with danger, she has a great line (“If he turns me into a mummy, you’re the first one I’m coming after.”) While she is (rightly) afraid of the undead, she doesn’t squeal like Kate Capshaw and make herself totally useless.

Evie is romantic and adventurous. She wants to find the Book of the Dead not for the treasure aspect but for the scholarly thrill. This, however, does not mean she’s cold or stuffy. Evie has her moments of weakness, but she readily recognizes them (“Oh it wasn’t that good of a kiss!”)

Sure she’s clumsy. Brilliance and beauty must have a cost. But she’s brave, loyal, spunky, and smart. And she’s happy being who she is. (“I’m a librarian!”)

It doesn’t hurt that Rachel Weisz excels at playing roles like this. (And I refuse to discuss the third movie where they recast because she just isn’t the same. At all.) She has the rare gift of being surrounded by monsters, special effects, mayhem, and battles and still being a demanding, intelligent presence on screen (it’s not so easy–look at good actresses who get swallowed by movies like this). Her characters are smart, independent and yet accessible. No wonder she married James Bond (Daniel Craig). I would recommend, aside from the first two Mummy films, Constantine, Enemy at the Gates, The Runaway Jury, and The Constant Gardner.

Why should you trust me? I’m an English teacher!

 

Categories: Let Me Entertain You | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

