If you ask me . . .

“Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn’t.”

Eric Jong

As of late I have found myself in the strange position of giving advice. I am normally the one stumbling through life, clueless, asking someone wiser than myself what the devil to do with the fix in which I find myself. So being on the other side is alien; however, I find that my own guides, along with my ticker tape parade of mistakes, have given me some good things to pass on.

On Fashion:

“No cleavage before 10 pm if you can help it.” One of my good friends from college

“Before you leave the house, look in the mirror and take off one accessory.” Coco Chanel

“Fit, fit, fit.” Tim Gunn

“Just because it’s made in your size, doesn’t mean it’s meant for you to wear. Dress for your body, not the trends.” Me

On Food:

“I try not to eat more than I can lift.” Miss Piggy

“If you read the label and it has more than 5 ingredients, don’t eat it.” Bethenny Frankel

“Don’t freeze salad.” Me

On Child Rearing:

“Don’t worry that children never listen to you. Worry that they are always watching you.” Robert Fulghum

“You can love them and still want to strangle them. Know your limits and know when you need to give yourself a time out.” Paraphrase of my brother-in-law

“The best thing you can do with a kid is when they get home from a game, ask them two thing: what did you learn and did you have fun. Never ask if they won or lost, even if you are dying to know.” An ex-counseling professor of mine

“Always have a spare.” Me

On Education:

“Be tough but fair.” One of my mentors at work

“Admit your mistakes; students appreciate the honesty.” Another mentor at work

“Don’t be afraid to ask for guidance, admit your mistakes, and learn from them so you can mess up in a new and much more interesting way the next time.” Me

General:

“Acknowledge your feelings, acknowledge your doubts. Then let them go and move on.” My college yoga instructor

“Fail better.” Samuel Beckett

And my final piece of advice, building on Beckett’s quote is this:

There is no such thing as perfect. No matter how amazing someone or something is, they can always improve. The only way to improve is to do something and fail, so that next time, you can fail better.

What’s your best piece of advice?

XO

A

Categories: Feed the Belly, The Little People and Furry Friends | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “If you ask me . . .

  1. Mitzi

    On dating: Never date a man who wears a belt buckle bigger than his head or has hair longer and prettier than yours.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

