That Kind Of Girl

We knew it was coming . . . or at least I did. Dropping Liliana off at school today I found myself face to face with Judy Judgson from last week. I smiled at her as I signed my daughter in, wondering if she even remembered who I was. She did. Once again I was given the up and down. (Today’s outfit was capri pants, TOMS, and a Boy Meets Girl T-shirt.)

“I like your shirt.”

“Thanks.” I tried to smile and thought for a second that perhaps she was going to apologize for her comment last week.

“It really is refreshing to see someone who’s in to all that earth stuff who still cares about their appearance.”

Guess not.

I had a million come backs on the tip of my tongue. Those who know me in private life know I can have quite the saber wit when I want to. But something stopped me. I thought about my daughter, watching me from the classroom. I thought about the son of this woman, still holding her hand. I thought about why I recycle and use organic foods and read to my daughter and teach her tolerance. And I thought about one of my resolutions this year: Teach Better.

“I actually care about a lot of things–the earth, food, my students, my kids, and the Lakers making the playoffs. I figure if I can look nice while doing it, why not? Obviously nobody wants to see a sloppy Earthsaver. Isn’t it great how easy it is to make the world a better place?”

She looked confused, to say the least. I just smiled, took my cloth diaper, organic onesie wearing son, and left. When I walked out the front door she still hadn’t moved but instead was watching me walk away. Wonder what she’ll have to say next week? I can’t wait to find out.

(I also can’t wait to see how she reacts to my hippie Easter Party Earthsaving.)

XO

A

 

Categories: The Little People and Furry Friends | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “That Kind Of Girl

  1. anjobanjo22

    Good for you! I sometimes don’t know what people can completely disregard someone’s feelings. People really need to think before they speak.

  2. hahahaha I love that.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

