The Person My Dog Thinks I Am

“My goal in life is to be as good of a person my dog already thinks I am.” ~Author Unknown

That, in a nut shell, sums up my New Year’s Resolution. I love that as a society we make pledges to better ourselves each year, even if we don’t stick to them. It gives me hope. This year mine is pretty simple: Better.

Eat Better.

Live Better.

Teach Better.

Love Better.

I’ll explore what each of those mean to me in the coming year. For right now, I’ll share this.

Perdita Jewel Enjoying a Refreshing Drink at the Puppy Park

Perdita is our Pit Bull-Dalmatian Mix. She was a neglected dog that managed to escape and find our family and would die to keep us safe. Unfortunately, she has also been deaf since birth and developed seizures over the past year. One of the reasons that I have tried to embrace a more natural lifestyle is because chemicals can trigger her seizures. I will do a tribute to my Perdi Jewel in another blog, but in my quest to be the owner she deserves, I made her some organic dog treats yesterday. Here is that recipe. Perdi and my mom’s dog loved them. Our snotty Border Collie-Aussie mix wasn’t so keen. But then she’s literally crazy.

Make them for someone with a cold nose and warm heart that loves you unconditionally.

Minty Dog Bones

Ingredients:
1 Tbl. Veg. Oil
1 C. Water
2 C. Whole Wheat Flour
½ C. Oatmeal (not instant)
2 Tbl. Fresh Mint
1/3 C. Chopped Parsely
1/4 Tsp. Minced Garlic (flea prevention)

Directions: Mix Oil and Water, slowly add flour and other ingredients, roll dough out on a flat surface.

Cut with bone-shaped cookie cutters.

Bake 35 minutes in a 350 degree oven on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

Makes about 3 dozen herbal dog treats (depending on the size of your cutter).

(You can use dried herbs if you want, but the fresh ones are better and make your house smell nice while they are baking.)

Hint: They freeze well! But they’ll last for approximately 1 month unfrozen.

Benefits of Mint and Parsley and Garlic in Dog Treats

The fresh flavor of parsley and mint helps to freshen your pet’s breath. What else does mint do?

Mint can also be soothing to the stomach and nervous system and help alleviate nausea.

Parsley is also soothing and can help relieve arthritic pain.

Garlic supports the immune system and prevents fleas.

XO

A

Categories: Life and Other Nonsense | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Person My Dog Thinks I Am

  1. Love this! I’ll have to make some for Samson when I get home.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

