Practical Crafts: Low Key Birthday Bash

For my son’s second birthday, we went very low key with hot dogs (tofu for me), veggie chili, and vegan cupcakes. My daughter made a garland that we hung up as part of the decorations and we used galvanized pails (left over from my wedding) for silverware and napkins.

The veggie chili recipe came from Vegan Cooking for Carnivores and was super easy and delicious. We served stuffed jalapenos from Aarti Sequeri, although instead of wrapping them in bacon, we just fried up the bacon and put it on the side for sprinkling (having reached the end of my completely vegan month, I enjoyed these with regular cream cheese–I do want to try making them with Tofutti). For the cupcakes, I made Snickerdoodle from Frosted Bakery and Chocolate Cherry from Baked Bree. Both were super yummy.

As for the garland, we improvised from some things we found around the house, making stars out of old coke cans and wrapping toilet paper rolls in paper to make rockets. My daughter had fun writing Happy Birthday Alex on the stars and rockets, which we strung up on an old ribbon.

It was a lovely evening and my little guy had a blast.

Categories: The Little People and Furry Friends | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 828 other followers

